Was that a Yes… or a No???

I came across a great quote from an anonymous author today… It’s better to look back on life and say: “I can’t believe I did that” than to look back and say, “I wish I did that”.

This is how I try to live my life… try new things, new places, new foods, toss out ideas and see what takes and what doesn’t, and if it doesn’t, at least you won’t wonder if you should have. Well, this seems to work for me, anyway.

My adventure part I, started out in Prague with my testing out a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) course, to see if I might like to teach. I was going strong the first half of the course and too busy to think ahead. I felt myself start to run out of steam, but too busy to ask myself why. I finally stopped and tried to visualize myself teaching and living in Prague when, BAM, there it was… the epiphany. I just didn’t see it.

Taking everything into account about the area, the people and what I have experienced to-date, it is just not for me. Now, of course… I have no regrets. I have met some amazing and fun people, have seen a lot of Prague this past month, learned some Czech language, and that although I can speak well, I positively loathe learning grammar, and that although Prague is an amazingly beautiful city, I would rather visit than live here.

A few things about, the good, the bad and the ugly…

The Good…

Prague is a great city! Many of the districts are beautiful! The Czech food, beer, and wine are delicious and there is great nightlife! As I pointed out in my last post, the architecture is one of the most amazing I have ever seen and I am positively in awe.

The Bad…

I despise having to carry around change. I REALLY DO! I don’t do it in the states; it weighs me down, blah! And, don’t get me started about their tipping rules.

As I had heard before arriving, most Czechs are not the most out-going people, unless you engage them in conversation or introduced to them by a friend. Although, there are exceptions to the rule. So, I decided to test this by smiling at random people and wishing them “Dobrý den, (dob-ree den)”, which means “hello”. Well, let’s just say it was a failed experiment, and leave it at that.

The Ugly…

The language is interesting and not all that easy to pick up. Ano (ah-noh), actually means, “Yes”.  Ano is often shortened to “no”, sometimes resulting in major confusion, (cue in… deer in the headlights look).

The second-hand smoke is EVERYWHERE, which is just not my thing and I was over it after the 2nd week of being here, and that is being generous.

There is an excessive amount of Graffiti and sirens. Not quite sure what it is about beautiful old Architecture that screams out, please graffiti the shit outta me in every single space you can possibly find, but, there you have it. Also, I am not sure why I am hearing sirens over half the time. I sure hope most of them aren’t justified, but there are sure a helluvalot of ‘em!

Anyway, there you have it. The first part of my adventure is coming to a close and I am heading to Paris next week to start Part II, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

